Be My Vulnerability

Vulnerability sounds like truth and feels like courage. Truth and courage aren’t always comfortable but they are never weakness.

It is awkward. We aren’t used to exposing our raw nerves, are always told not to do so.

Never shed a tear,
or show fear,
never get angry,
or offend too badly,
are lessons taught
in life quite early.

The fear resides in the process of shedding the armor, or revealing true feelings and thoughts, or sharing what you are uncomfortable or afraid of and the anticipated reaction – judgment, criticism, scorn or the worst of them all, indifference.

But vulnerability is not about fear, grief and disappointment, it is the birthplace of everything we are hungry for.

Behind my shield is my truest passion, my purest desires, my potent emotions and my most soulful experiences. What makes me vulnerable, makes me beautiful.

It is exhausting to mask your truest form from the world and then expect them to accept you completely. They cannot accept without understanding. And they cannot understand what they do not know.

So know when I let down the barriers and shed my cloak of protection, I’ll consume you.

If I cry for you,
care for your time,
want you to feel,
a little of what I feel,
I am bleeding,
because I’ve ripped open
all my defenses.
I’m needy, greedy,
I hunger, because I care.
Not for all, not for everyone,
but only those
from whom
I am not afraid
to be honest, brave;
vulnerable.

Does everyone understand and keep an open mind? Does being vulnerable mean you’ll rise above the criticism or rejections? Of course not.

But to become whole first let yourself be broken.

So let the snide remarks, giggles, silent corridors, noisy alleys and lonely nights slip past you. Let it not become an obstacle but a talisman. Let it become your conduit of courage. Make it your strength.

The world cannot bring you down when you own your story. Love yourself for everything you are and were. Raise your chin and think, “So what?” Uncurl your toes, un-clench your hands, smile and say, “So what?”

Be self-aware. Be honest. Look yourself in the eye and know your worth.

Because when you know your worth, the fear goes away.

 

includes quotes from Brene Brown and C.S. Lewis.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. rosh says:

    Reblogged this on A Moonchild & her French window and commented:
    Sneha writes straight from the gut. Her words are raw and they bleed with life. The life that most people want to hide under the carpet and don’t want to own up to. Proud to know a writer whose words have so much soul. Here’s a recent gem of hers.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. rosh says:

    “The world cannot bring you down when you own your story.”

    Love this post, Sneha!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sneha Iyer says:

      Thanks Rosh! Your feedback means a lot

      Like

Leave a Reply

